Skip to product information
1 of 1

Grant-lee Phillips

Grant-lee Phillips - Walking in the Green Corn (10th Anniversary) (TURQUOISE VINYL)

Grant-lee Phillips - Walking in the Green Corn (10th Anniversary) (TURQUOISE VINYL)

Regular price $23.85 USD
Regular price $27.99 USD Sale price $23.85 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

RECORD STORE DAY:BLACK FRIDAY "History and legend have often found their way into my songs," reflects Grant-Lee Phillips. "But sometimes, I don't have to look quite so far to find inspiration." The ten songs on Grant-Lee Phillips' Walking in the Green Corn are drawn from Phillips intensive investigations into his native lineage. Phillips, who is Muskogee (Creek), elliptically explores the intersection of past and present, personal and political. While the songs delve deeply into the subconscious mystery of his own backstory, they simultaneously reveal the resonance and insight of ancient myth in parallel to contemporary man's emotions, actions, and errors. With the exception of violin and vocals by Sara Watkins (formerly of Nickel Creek) and an understated vibraphone part by Alexander Burke, everything on Walking in the Green Corn was performed, sung, and engineered by Phillips. For the album's 10th anniversary, Walking in the Green Corn is getting its first-ever vinyl reissue on turquoise color vinyl. This edition also includes a bonus 45 single (also on turquoise color vinyl) of two totally unreleased tracks: "Billy Bowlegs" and "Red River." This is the first time the album has ever been available on color vinyl. The 10th anniversary edition of Walking in the Green Corn is available exclusively at independent record stores for Record Store Day Black Friday 2022.

1. Vanishing Song 2. Great Horned Owl 3. Buffalo Hearts 4. The Straighten Outer 5. Fool's Gold 6. Silent Arrow 7. Bound to This World 8. Thunderbird 9. Black Horses in a Yellow Sky 10. Walking in the Green Corn Bonus 45 single: A. Billy Bowlegs B. Red River

  • Handling Note: **Please allow an additional 72 hours for this item's shipment.**
  • Format Detail: LP Turquoise Vinyl, Standard Jacket + Bonus Turquoise Vinyl 7" Single in 45 Jacket
  • Internal ID: JITRE
  • Genre: Folk
  • Format: Vinyl
View full details